The Daily Stoic

This resonates today.

We are in a hard Covid lockdown at present.

In the hills, bushfires have destroyed over seventy homes and ash covers much of the the city.

Finances are dwindling and work options are limited.

And yet, for the most part, it’s all out of my control.

What I can do, however, is be present right now. I can be the best Dad and partner I can be in this moment. I can do the right thing by myself and the family. I can stick to my Daily practices and focus on controlling only that which I can.

That is enough for today.

Boozebrain

About boozebrain

Greetings good people. This is my blog. It's about me trying to control my drinking and my life. Wish me luck. View all posts by boozebrain

6 responses to “The Daily Stoic

  • msnewleaf

    That’s all we ever really can do! Sending good thoughts for you and your family in these tough times. 🤗

  • clairei47

    Sound so tough, I hope you are ok. This was a brilliant piece for me to read right now. Awake at 2.30am … anxiety causing me so many problems right now. It is totally about not being in control. I feel so very out of control of many areas in my life right now it’s hard to remain present. But if I can let it go I know I’ll feel better. 🤗

    • boozebrain

      Yep, it’s difficult work, but necessary. And I need to seperate things every day – often multiple times. I hope you are okay and that your anxiety is settling. I’ve stopped, for the most part, fighting my anxiety. Acknowledge it, allow it and stay present till it passes. Sometimes it’ll races by and other days it takes up residence in my mind.
      We’re all doing the best we can Claire. Thinking of you and I hope you are being compassionate with yourself. Your just human after all. A little messed up like the rest of us!

      • clairei47

        I am doing ok. I hit a very low point on Friday and after a sleepless night I got up out of bed and tackled what I could. I slept later in the evening and today I am doing the same. Small, doable jobs and taking time out too. I certainly am a little messed up!

      • boozebrain

        May we all celebrate our mutual ‘messed up ness.’ Taking time out sounds a wise choice, as does tackling small, doable jobs. I like that. I’m going to try and do the same. Sending you as much good energy as I can muster.

      • clairei47

        I am grateful for any good energy so thank you.

Leave a comment