Strange happenings

Yeah…but where is it waiting?

This last week I have been craving for a drink. WTF?

Ten years sober, despite a three month glitch during Covid when I dabbled with drinking again, and suddenly, I’m at home parenting, cooking dinner and wham…all I wanted was red wine.

It has been the strangest week. I thought this craving would pass. It hasn’t. Just now I was looking online for specials on gin. It’s been over three years since I drank gin. What is that about?

That’s when it hit me…time to start blogging again. If I’m experiencing this, perhaps others have done in the past or are finding themselves with similar thoughts.

I’ve been resisting the urge to drink through gritted teeth, and each day I have been edging closer to sneaking a drink from my partners stash. Obviously, this is the last thing I want to do.

I’ve been there countless times over the years – the regrets, the self flagellation, the anger of relapse. I’ve also moved beyond those unhelpful emotions many times and found acceptance, intentionality and joy. Those latter feelings are much more satisfying.

I feel better already. I’ve also just purchased an online book – ‘this naked mind. Control alcohol’ by Annie Grace. Anyone read it? It got excellent reviews.

I simply want to throw all I can at this craving, and blogging and reading a new book about drinking seems a good place to start. Time will tell.

Thanks all and talk soon.

Boozebrain

About boozebrain

Greetings good people. This is my blog. It's about me trying to control my drinking and my life. Wish me luck. View all posts by boozebrain

2 responses to “Strange happenings

  • gr8ful_collette

    Hey BB! It’s been awhile on both ends but I’m happy to see your post again, even if it is based on your honest struggle. I’m grateful to have not had cravings to that extent as of yet but I think you are on the right track by reaching for some tools in your toolbox. Have you thought about why you’re wanting to drink? Is it because of stressors in your life? Boredom or wanting to check out? The social aspect? The taste? I think when you identify why, you can address the urge, and find an appropriate alternative. And then, remember why you quit, the way it made you feel, and the fact that there is not a single thing that drinking makes better, but so many things it makes worse, including your health! If you listen to podcasts, I just finished The Huberman Lab’s What Alcohol Does to your Brain, Your Body and your Health and it was very affirming to me that I have in fact chosen the best path for my life and my health. Sorry for the long response but I know how badly you regretted your wobble a few years ago and I’m rooting for you to pull through. I’m awaiting another post soon and am sending you love and good thoughts in the meantime. 💛🌟

  • boozebrain

    Collette…you are a superstar. Thankyou. I will check out the podcast.
    In terms of why I’m suddenly wanting to drink…I’ve been trying to unlock that riddle. I’ve been Meditating, blogging and praying consistently of late and feeling in a good place. This week I’ve been observing the inner chatter. There doesn’t seem to be any key motivator that I can clearly identify. This has only added to my confusion.
    This afternoon and evening have been much better. I honestly think blogging and reconnecting online and reading lots of people’s stories has been a blessing. Is it complacency? Is it boredom? Is it wanting something I cannot clearly articulate? Mmmmm…the pondering will continue as will the blogging.
    Thank you so much. It may not seem much to write this response, however be sure to know it’s given me perspective, strength and solidarity.
    I hope all is grand with you. X

Leave a comment