Inner traffic – beep beep!

My mind during the last week

This cartoon succinctly captures where I’m at. For the past eight days, the inner noise around alcohol has been deafening. It’s been a struggle. Thankfully, last night and today have been far more manageable.

The past week has felt like an unpleasant and unexpected eruption from a dormant, sober volcano – whoosh! No warning signs that I could see, which is not to say they weren’t there. As the old coaching saying goes…’you can’t change what you can’t see.’ What have I been missing or not tuning into? I wonder.

Today, I’m hoping and praying that this unforeseen craving passes as quickly as it arrived.

It demonstrates that surprises, twists and turns and moments of chaos are never far from the addicted mind. At least that seems to be the case for me.

Onward ho folks. Back to one day & one hour at a time. Control what I can and let what’s beyond my control pass me by. Mind you, that’s a challenge when my mind is ablaze with random shit, but hey, that’s my current reality and it’s what I have to work with. So…let’s get to work.

Thankfully the inner ramblings are stilling. Phew.

Boozebrain

About boozebrain

Greetings good people. This is my blog. It's about me trying to control my drinking and my life. Wish me luck. View all posts by boozebrain

3 responses to “Inner traffic – beep beep!

  • Clairei

    Well hello BB. I have just noticed this post and haven’t looked back to catch up on others. It seems to started drinking again. This bloody addiction is a pain in the arse! I couldn’t stop. Tried and tried. On 30th December I attended an AA meeting with my cousin. I’ve been sober 31 days today. Exactly as you said in your post … one day, one moment at a time. Just for today I will not drink! Good luck x

    • Clairei

      Ah .. you have cravings but not actually taken a drink (I’ve just read another post). Hope you are ok and managing to resist that first drink my friend x

    • boozebrain

      Well done to you for heading back to AA. 31 days is a damn fine achievement. Hurrah. Keep it going.
      I haven’t had a drink thankfully, but it’s just been a weird week of ongoing cravings. Blogging, journaling and meditation is helping. It’s such a riddle this trap of addiction.
      It sounds like you are in a very good place. Let us both take that ‘one day at a time’ together. Appreciate the response. It really helps.

Leave a comment